Panch Prayag- “Himalayan Odyssey”

Panch Prayag refers to a group of five sacred confluences of rivers in the Indian state of Uttarakhand, located in the Himalayas. These five confluences are considered highly significant in Hindu mythology and are revered as sacred pilgrimage sites for Hindus. The word “Panch Prayag” is derived from the Sanskrit words “Panch” meaning “five” and “Prayag” meaning “confluence”. The five confluences that makeup Panch Prayags are:

The Five Rivers

The five major rivers of the state – Bhagirathi, Dhauliganga, Nandakini, Pinder, and Mandakini merge into the Alaknanda River and finally become the river Ganga at the end. There are five such spots where these rivers meet with each other differently, these spots are named Prayag. Prayag is also known as Sangam in Hindi.

Prayag Significance

Prayag Sthal has a very great significance in the Hindu religion. Religious disciples believe that bathing in the Prayag can remove their sins and wrong deeds in this life.

Suggested Read- Panch Badri – A Soulful Journey To the 5 Temples of Lord Vishnu 
Vishnu Prayag-Uttarakhand
Vishnu Prayag-Uttarakhand

1- Vishnu Prayag 

Vishnuprayag: It is the confluence of the Alaknanda River and the Dhauliganga River, named after Lord Vishnu, who is believed to have appeared in his fish (Matsya) incarnation at this place.

According to the myth, Narad Muni worshipped Vishnu at this place. Pleased with his sincerity, Lord Vishnu himself appeared to bless the sage. Based on this, the name of the place is Vishnuprayag.

Suggested Read – The Significance of the Pind Daan Ritual at Dev Prayag
Nanad Prayag Uttarakhand
Nanad Prayag Uttarakhand

2- Nand Prayag

Nandaprayag: It is the confluence of the Alaknanda River and the Nandakini River, named after Nanda, the foster father of Lord Krishna, who is believed to have performed penance at this place.

Nandakini River traces its origin to the Trishul mountains. There is a temple of Gopal Ji beside the spot where these two rivers meet.

The History

Nandaprayag is 1358 meters high from sea level. This place was earlier known as Kandasu. Nandprayag was named after Nanda Ji who worshipped here for a long time, after which he got Krishna as his son. The Gopal Mandir here is devoted to Gopal, another name of Lord Krishna. Nandaprayag opens the route to the Badrikshetra.

Suggested Read – Koteshwar Mahadev Temple Rudraprayag
Karna Prayag Sangam Uttarakhand
Karna Prayag Sangam Uttarakhand

3- Karn Prayag 

Karnaprayag: It is the confluence of the Alaknanda River and the Pindar River, named after Karna, a heroic figure from the Hindu epic Mahabharata, who is believed to have meditated at this place. The Karn was a warrior from the Kaurav side in the epic Mahabharata. The famous Karn Temple in Karinprayag is built in his esteem.

The Myth

According to the myths, Karna worshipped the god of seven chariots ‘Sun’ in this place. Karn is said to be the son of Suryadev (the sun) and the Kunti. Karnprayag is a town in the Chamoli district settled at 1451 meters altitude. The place is also famous for the Uma Devi Temple.

Suggested Read – Top 8 Popular Waterfalls in Rishikesh-Mussoorie-Dehradun
Rudra Prayag Sangam Uttarakhand
Rudra Prayag Sangam Uttarakhand

4- Rudra Prayag 

Rudraprayag: It is the confluence of the Alaknanda River and the Mandakini River, named after Lord Shiva (Rudra), as it is believed to be the place where Lord Shiva performed his Tandava, the celestial dance. Rudraprayag is an important district of the state in terms of religious importance. It is the home of many highly significant temples and abodes, most of which are devoted to the almighty Shiva.

Suggested Read – 13 New Theme-Based Tourist Destinations in Uttarakhand
 Pind Daan Ritual
The Significance of the Pind Daan Ritual at Dev Prayag

5- Dev Prayag 

Devprayag: It is the confluence of the Alaknanda River and the Bhagirathi River, which marks the beginning of the Ganges River, the most sacred river in Hinduism.


Devprayag got its name after a sage Dev Sarma who is said to have meditated in this place for a long time after adopting the life of asceticism. Dev Prayag is also known as the penance land of Rama and Lakshman. It is said that Lord Rama and his brother Lakhan performed their penance at Devprayag to get over the sins of taking the life of a Brahman.

Suggested Read – 5 Lesser-known Postcards Villages to visit in Uttarakhand
Sri Raghunath Temple
Sri Raghunath Temple Devprayag Uttarakhand

Raghunath Temple

Dev Prayag is among those places in the state that are religiously significant. Dev Prayag has the most famous temple of Rama with name Raghunath. This renowned temple has the 15 feet idol of the Lord made with black granite.

The temple is accompanied by other temples of Hanuman, Goddess Annapurna, Sage Shankaracharya, and Garud. Devprayag also has temples dedicated to other Gods and Goddesses.


Panch Prayag is considered a sacred pilgrimage circuit for Hindus, and many devotees visit these confluences to offer prayers, take holy dips, and seek blessings. These confluences are also surrounded by picturesque landscapes and are popular tourist destinations in Uttarakhand for their natural beauty and cultural significance.


Namaste! I am Om. I am a licensed Tourist Guide ( Approved by Ministry of Tourism, Government of India), I’m originally from Varanasi. Now, I am living in Rishikesh. I set up this blog to share my tips and experiences for traveling to inspire and help you to travel more. Hari Om

Comments are closed.